Presidential Proclamations and Other White House Policies

Last Updated

March 19, 2021


Proclamations Made by President Biden:

  • Feb. 24, 2021, Proclamation: “A Proclamation on Revoking Proclamation 10014.” President Biden issued a proclamation revoking Proclamation 10014, issued by President Trump on April 22, 2020, and sections 1 of Proclamations 10052 (June 22, 2020) and 10131 (Dec. 31, 2020), both of which extended the suspension in place as a result of Proclamation 10014.
  • Jan. 25, 2021, Proclamation: “Proclamation on the Suspension of Entry as Immigrants and Non-Immigrants of Certain Additional Persons Who Pose a Risk of Transmitting Coronavirus Disease.” President Biden issued a proclamation suspending the entry of immigrant or nonimmigrants noncitizens who were physically present in the Schengen Area, the United Kingdom (excluding overseas territories outside of Europe), the Republic of Ireland, and the Federative Republic of Brazil or South Africa within 14 days prior to their intended entry to the United States. There are various exceptions to the proclamation, including LPRs of the United States. The proclamation will continue indefinitely, with a monthly review of the HHS Secretary to determine its need. The proclamation went into effect at 12:01 a.m. ET, Jan. 26, 2021.

Proclamations Made by Former President Trump:

  • Dec. 31, 2020, Proclamation: Proclamation on “Suspension of Entry of Immigrants and Nonimmigrants who continue to Present a Risk to the United States Labor Market” extending visa bans through March 31, 2021
  • April 22, 2020, Proclamation: Former President Trump issued a proclamation suspending for 60 days the entry of certain immigrants applying for lawful permanent residency from abroad. (Proclamation 10014). This proclamation was rescinded by President Biden on Feb. 24, 2021 (see above).
  • March 11, 2020, Proclamation: Presidential Proclamation on Novel Coronavirus (Proclamation 9993)

CLINIC Affiliates: If you are a CLINIC Affiliate and need assistance resolving issues in a case, please contact our Training and Legal Support team by submitting a question to Ask the Experts at If you have exhausted your case resolution options for a pending case you can also contact our Advocacy team at You can also contact advocacy if you are encountering issues in your practice that are not addressed by measures taken by federal agencies.